Monday, December 20, 2010

PHLR has awarded seven travel scholarships to public health law researchers and practitioners to attend the PHLR Annual Grantee Meeting in Tempe, Arizona. This meeting provides a forum for current PHLR grantees to share research progress and findings, discuss methodological concerns and innovations, and identify effective ways to disseminate research results to inform public health law practice and policy debates. The 2011 travel scholarship winners are:

Sara Abiola, J.D., doctoral candidate, PhD Program in Health Policy, Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences;

Jean Bae, J.D., M.P.H. candidate, New York University, research associate, 50-State Public Health Research Law Project;

Leo Beletsky, J.D., M.P.H., assistant professor, UCSD School of Medicine;

Heidi Bramson, M.P.H., J.D. candidate, Rutgers School of Law-Newark, Project Director, Chemical Dependency Institute, Beth Israel Medical Center;

Shelia Fleischhacker, Ph.D., J.D., affiliate, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, American Indian Healthy Eating Project;

Allison Gilbert, Ph.D., M.P.H., post-doctoral fellow, UNC-Chapel Hill/Duke Postdoctoral Training Program in Mental Health Services and Systems Research;

and Lindsey Murtagh, J.D., M.P.H, research associate, Department of Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health.